Pumpkin Soup

Chop garish pumpkin into
pieces squish thud squish
thud.  Chop off skin scoop out
seeds slide skin and seeds
into scraps bucket clatter clatter.
Slide pumpkin pieces from board
into pan with knife blade.  Add
small chopped potato to thicken
sprinkle salt and pepper over all.
Cover with chicken stock simmer.

Bubble bubble bubble lid puffs
up steam puffs out lid clunks
down after steam escapes.
Puff clunk puff clunk.
Turn down element heat
rattle rattle clunk rattle
rattle puffff  ssssss !!!

Lift lid test pumpkin, knife
slides in pumpkin soft as butter.
Mash pumpkin potato chunks
together stir into chicken stock.
Aaaah !!  Heavenly steaming aroma !
Top up with chicken stock,
stir in milk – creamy texture …
Taste ……. aaah !! …… !!

Heat again gently, lid rattles,
stir slowly, set aside to ettle.
Pour into bowls, add sour cream
dollop, chopped parsley garnish
…….  Perfection …… !!!

Pumpkin Soup

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Soup

    1. Thank you. No I am not a cook at heart, though I have to keep cooking now that I am diabetic. Processed foods have too many ngredients that are not good for diabetics.

      Like

  1. I love soup. I just heard that vegetables and fruits are the best things to eat for diabetes. My husband has it and he doesn’t like sweet potatoes either. I like them raw, actually. I thought of the last squash I bought. I admired it’s color for a good long while until I realized it needed a shave. Oh, how I hate throwing away food. My dad grew up during the Depression and waste was equated to sin. I made “Tomato Soup LIke Campbell’s Never Dreamed Of,” I hope that’s the right title, from “Diet for a Small Planet,” a cookbook I bought in the 1970’s. That’s mmm good. Rice and butter and milk with veggies and spices, and of course, tomatoes. I enjoyed catching up on your latest poems.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Vegetables are definitely the best thing for diabetes. Fruit is alright in limited quantities as it has so much sugar. Scientists are finding out more about diabetes all the time and the recommended diet keeps changing around a bit. I am not a keen cook but have to cook plenty now as processed foods have ingredients that are bad for diabetics. but you sound like a good cook who enjoys cooking.

      Like

      1. I do enjoy cooking if I don’t have too much to do that day. Sometimes things turn out well, other times, not so great. I think it’s because I’m cooking for less people now and I haven’t quite got the adjustments of spices and quantites worked out. So, too much salt or a meal that feels like it’ll never end. lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

