House Cleaning

Sitting on my couch leafing
through my book of jotted
words, scribbled ideas, thinking
thoughts for my next poem
for my blog, pondering one
then another.Nothing strikes
a chord, starts me writing.

Ceiling corners’ cobwebs taunt
me, wisps of carpet fluff float
up, point at me. A layer of dust
covers sideboard, living room
surfaces, dulls them greyly.
The kitchen floor needs sweeping,
wet mopping. All sights that
annoy me as I sit. The tiles
around the bathroom vanity, the
large bathroom mirror all need
smudges, soapy smears wiped off.

So many distractions from writing.

When I sweep the floors, work
the vacuum cleaner, ply wet
mop and bucket, clean bathroom
tiles and mirror, move dusters
over living room and bedroom…

… ideas flow, ready to write,
sharp words, keen phrases come
to mind. So I jot them down,
continue cleaning write down
more …… Most confusing !

House Cleaning

11 thoughts on “House Cleaning

  1. I loved this! Once again, you and I have shared an experience. When I am exercising, working in my yard, vacuuming, cleaning the refrigerator, etc, often writing inspiration hits without my purposefully asking for it. Thank you for catching my experience so perfectly in your poem.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. There’s a reason why housework oils the muse. And why a majority of the popular authors I have interviewed are dog owners (and thus dog walkers). I do like the way you have shaped this post and the rhythm too: strangely satisfying.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

