Cappuccino

Leaving the hospital after
regular blood tests I
follow an unfamiliar route
home past a cluster of
shops where a cafe exhales
a rich deep robust aroma
of sumptuous dark coffee.

My previous enjoyment of a
substantial cappuccino in bright
cheerful cafe surroundings has
not favoured me in return,
bringing nausea, dizziness,
headaches later on unless
accompanies by a large meal
to soak up the caffeine.

All this is long forgotten
as I succumb to the rich
cafe air, consume that
cappuccino with a sandwich.

I have a quiet day, no
dizziness or nausea. That
night I go to bed, read,
turn out the light, lie awake,
breathe deeply, slowly, count
sheep, read, turn out the light
again, lie until dawn arrives.

I have not slept all night.

Cappuccino

20 thoughts on “Cappuccino

  1. Hahaha … that’ll learn ya”- I enjoy coffee. For years did not use it. The smell reminded me of skunks. I quite like skunks but their odour is not pleasant. I have a million skunk meeting stories. Yes, coffee and especially Cappuccino, will do that for those unprepared. If I choose an expresso method? I choose an Americano, double shot. Then pour cream in at the side counter. Telling the baristo to leave room. Doesn’t really matter which expresso chosen, will always deliver the same … ahem punch. At home. I buy roasted coffee beans and grind my own. I use mainly the cone drip method. I hate those pods, so expensive and wasteful of plastic. Coffee in bean form or any other, has shot upwards in price. I do not mind if the money was reaching the growers but …. ? You may buy your own green beans and roast them yourself. Something I’m thinking about. Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. J > Latest expert recommendation for coffee is about 10-20 mins after you get up in the morning. I know what it is not to sleep well at night, and that’s with avoiding coffee after noon. Neuralgic pain. I nap when I can. Somehow falling asleep – in the car (not driving!), in an armchair, slumped at my desk, anywhere! – is more restful than trying to sleep when I’m supposed to. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for that. Yes, I remember I stopped drinking coffee after lunch time quite a few years ago and I now realise I had a reason for that. I had neuralgic pain in my teens and it was horrible, I hope you are finding ways to manage it. And yes, I will keep writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

