Supermarket Displays

My blood tests said diabetes
so at diabetes classes
I learn to be diabetic in
a healthy kind of way.

The dietitian talked us
through her power point
presentation then took us
to the supermarket to see
food labels and content
around the aisles and shelves.

Inside the entry door we
immediately encountered the
mighty bargain display of
chocolate eggs and rabbits
surrounding us in towers.

“Get used to it,” said the
dietitian, “there’s a month
to go, of grand displays of
chocolate, of tasty hot cross
buns.”   These are diabetic
enemies, full of sugar, fats
and starch – of which we
diabetics can consume so little.

Thus it has continued each time
I shop for food. Prominent
displays of popular foods, of
fizzy drinks, pineapple centred
mallow puffs, instant coffee
sachets with milk and sugar
added…….. on and on it goes.

I rarely bought much of these
but still the choice was mine.

Now, I am excluded.

Supermarket Displays

8 thoughts on “Supermarket Displays

  1. I am not a dietician and have attended similar classes in Canada. Yet, I would challenge some of the recommendations. Most of them will expect the attendees to be a meat eater.. ? Saturated fats such as what comes from animals can be detrimental. Then they say. So, eat chicken, they say. Lean cuts of beef blah, blah, White breast meat, blah, blah. Yet ignore how the poultry and bovine are fed high grain diets and kept in cages. Pumped full of growth hormones and antibiotics, etc.The human brain is made from cholesterol. We need a certain amount each day. Each time I asked about coconut. Nature’s own saturated fat and none of them really had an answer to that for me.

    There have been accounts of shipwrecked survivors Living on just coconuts and when rescued, were in remarkable health. I might go on? I would just say, “stay away from meats from any warm-blooded mammal. Use common sense. Do your research. Read the labels on packaged foods and learn to understand them. If you cannot pronounce the ingredients, don’t eat them. Learn to cook, properly. Everything in moderation. Processed sugar and salt are killers, for sure. But in moderation, with fibre to stretch out their digestion. A person will find they can manage this disease of aging. Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, one of our family health professionals has challenged the dietitians’ teachings. As a newcomer, in the face of the disagreements I can only work out what is best for me, going by the results of my regular blood tests.

      Like

    1. Hi ! a fellow diabetic ! I think it could be awkward eating out with people who can eat anything, but I will find out in time. I have eaten out once so far since the diagnosis and we went to an Asian restaurant which had lots of suitable dishes luckily. Fortunately I went off alcohol years ago – just for unpleasant side effects back whenever. I am used to drinking water as sweet drinks with a meal don’t appeal to me at all. I still have plenty of learning ahead of me, obviously.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love water …. but i do not feel compelled to avoid alcohol. Just choose not to, mostly. Like gambling, it can creep up on a person. Authority loves us all to be smoking, gambling alcoholics. Cheers Jamie.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

