Weather

The weather does not read
or follow the local forecast.
In heavy rain my umbrella
keeps my upper half dry
while my shoes and trouser
legs become wringing wet.

Today’s forecast was for cloudy
skies when I got up early to
catch one of our little city’s
few buses in time for my
errands in town. As I left
to catch the bus the skies
blackened letting loose a
mighty torrential deluge.

Still needing to get to town
with no sign of rain or
darkness abating, along with
all other stranded souls I
called a taxi which finally
arrived and charged more
than the free bus ride
granted by my pensioner card.
And still it rained.

The weather has offered
no refund. I am the one
left carefully adjusting
my pensioner budget.

Weather

13 thoughts on “Weather

  1. Yes, that’s our weather, not worth listening to the weather forecast.
    Nice poem, enjoy reading it, so true adjusting your pensioner budget, it can be a challenge.
    Have a nice weekend if you can, it looks like a lot more rain coming, wet weekend for Taranaki,
    Monday’s a holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true …It rained here in Victoria for most of the day. Luckily I have a car and drove to my mailbox in Langford. Then on to the grocery store and home. I have an umbrella in my car, but seldom use it preferring the hood of my coat. My car I bought new by cash 14 years ago. Likely the last car I’ll own? It’s a good car and I hope it will last? Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After three redundancies during my working life with the consequent breaks in opportunities to save for retirement, I have to manage on my pension. Fortunately this little city is small enough for me to manage without a car, which I do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

