The Recidivist

Queueing at the broad front desk
of Welfare’s downtown office
I brace myself for
the bureaucrat’s strip search.
I am unemployed – again !

These front desk people read my forms,
bring my name up on their screen.
They mutter “No, no, this one will
have to go to the supervisor.
She’s been to us before.”

Social Welfare still speak
sternly after twenty years.
Their elderly code number
follows me to show
a marked recidivist.

Over sixty
unemployed
irrelevant
out of date
like mouldy cheese !

A disrespectable old age !

Originally posted 7 February 2017

The Recidivist

12 thoughts on “The Recidivist

  1. It amazes me how unique we all are. A lady turned 95 on Dec. 16 and she sees well and reads perfectly, hears well but is confined to a wheel chair. Another gal sits across the table from her and since she had an injury as a baby, she is wheel chair bound at age 60 and for years before that.God values them both, as He does you. I think you’re relevant and I don’t know you intimately like your friends and family do. As we say in America, (Me and a friend anyway: “That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.”)
    A few years back I started reading the book, “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” by Robert T. Kiyosaki. He’s got some interesting insights into work and earning money. Your poem is posted as having been published in Feb. of 2017.
    I left a letter off a title of a book on the 29th and had to fix it. 🙂 Keep writing your wonderful poems, please. Any chance you’ll publish them in a book or an e-book?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your compliments. This particular redundancy happened some years ago and I moved on with further efforts elsewhere. I hadn’t thought of publishing my poems yet, I am aware that the quality varies greatly, and also that the publishing process takes quite some doing.

    Like

  3. our helrafett sympathy goes to you and Family. I regret that Joan nd I never got together for lunch. We always talked about it. I will always remember the good times. She will sure be missed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

