Pukeko *

In the foreground of the seaside scene
the pukeko leans down to peck at
the bare ground. Further back stands
an old colonial house, etched in ink,
delicately tinted in water colours.

A calm pale sea shimmers in the
distance beyond hardy windblown
shrubs on a grassy bank. Gnarled
trees wearing crimson flowers protect
the two storey house inside the white
picket fence beside a tidal stream
seeping over the narrow beach.

Lush arum lilies with thick green
leaves sprawl around the unheeding
bird pecking for  tasty titbits. Red
legs, beak, comb blaze against
stark blue plumage and its tail,
upended, flashing a splash of white;
placid, contented, peaceful.

*New Zealand swamphen.

Posted a day early due to family Christmas lead up.

Pukeko *

14 thoughts on “Pukeko *

    1. Thank you very much, and merry Christmas to you and your loved ones. The time it takes me to write my poems varies greatly. Sometimes ideas flow while I do housework and shopping, sometimes I just have to sit down and write out my ideas in prose first writing and rewriting. I find two hours on any one piece at a time is my limit, after that I go round in circles. I need to look at any one piece of writing on different days, often three or even four, that way I can get a really fresh approach to my topic, and think of more appropriate vocabulary. I usually have enough poems on hand for posting over the next two or three weeks ahead. but that is just my approach. I am sure it is different for different people.

      Like

    1. Thank you for the comment. Last month I was searching my followers for a blog I had not seen for a while, and found WordPress had “unfollowed” some of the blogs I was following too. I reinstated them and will now check my lists from time to time.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

