Eketahuna Earthquake

In comfortable armchairs
my friend and I enjoy
her cool shady living room
on a hot sunny afternoon,
leisurely chatting, sipping tea.

A grinding roar deafens us.
A giant foot kicks
the back of my chair.
I turn but see no one.
The furniture rocks and sway
the floor undulates
like waves at sea.
What is deafening us  ?

My friend rushes to the doorway
leans against the jamb.
I stare at her,
realise an earthquake
is rocking the house.
I run to the other jamb.

The doorway and floor move freely
as if fixed to nothing,
the roaring grinds on.
It lasts for fifteen seconds
on an epicentre 36 kilometres away.

A builder checked my friend’s chimney,
said the old mortar was no longer
holding its bricks together.
She had it dismantled.

Eketahuna Earthquake

One thought on “Eketahuna Earthquake

  1. I remember the loma prieta quake back in 89, almost the big one. I was at the road and riding my bike, and all of a sudden, the road starts to be wobble and a bystander told me todc pull out of the street and get off my bike.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

